Posts by Date

Los Ojos

 

Los Ojos Bar and Grill in 2010. Photo by Judith Isaacs

The mercantile store that Moses Abousleman built in the late 1800s built became Los Ojos Bar & Grill in 1947. It has been written up in numerous state and national publications and is a must-see stop along the National Scenic Byway named the Jemez Mountain Trail.  The original building is the section on the south end. In the past century, it has been a mercantile store, warehouse, pool hall, dining hall, gambling hall and finally a bar. It has the second oldest continuously owned liquor license in the New Mexico.

ab29

Los Ojos 1970. Photographer unknown.

 Pam and Gub Barber, who owned and operated the bar until the late 1990s, fooled their customers one year with a trick menu.

 

Los Ojos circa 1940. From the Abousleman collection.

 

 

Los Ojos Bar and Grill in 2010. Photo by Judith Isaacs

Los Ojos Bar and Grill in 2010. Photo by Judith Isaacs

The mercantile store that Moses Abousleman built in the late 1800s built became Los Ojos Bar & Grill in 1947. It has been written up in numerous state and national publications and is a must-see stop along the National Scenic Byway named the Jemez Mountain Trail.  The original building is the section on the south end. In the past century, it has been a mercantile store, warehouse, pool hall, dining hall, gambling hall and finally a bar. It has the second oldest continuously owned liquor license in the New Mexico.

ab29

Los Ojos, 1970. Photographer unknown.

 

Los Ojos circa 1940. From the Abousleman collection.

Los Ojos circa 1940. From the Abousleman collection.

 

Jemez Springs, New Mexico. Headquarters for hunters, fisherman and vacationers in the Jemez Mountains of Northern New Mexico.
Published by Petley Sutdios, Phoenix, Arizona
Color Photography by George Thompson

 

J.D. Johnston’s Emporium, Jemez Springs, New Mexico. July 28th, 1938.

Doc’s Cafe